Dark Mode
Friday, 12 July 2024

Welcome to the National Assembly of Bhutan website.

Past Speakers

There has been 16 National Assembly Speakers since Bhutan established the Tshogdu or National Assembly in 1953. There were 13 Speakers that presided over the erstwhile Tshogdu, which was dissolved in 2007, with three Speakers serving two terms.

Dasho Kezang Dawa, the Ringpung Dzongtshab, was the first Speaker. Gyelden,Dasho Tamji Jagar served as third and eighth speaker, Yanglop Nidup of the monastic body served at the fourth and seventh Speaker and Dasho Ugen Dorje served as the 12th and 13th Speaker, the last Speaker of the Tshogdu. Pasang, the 10th Speaker, served nine years, the longest.

Under the new parliamentary system of governance since 2008, Dasho Jigme Tshultim of the Druk Phuensum Tshogpa party served as Speaker of the first elected Parliament. Jigme Zangpo of the People’s Democratic Party served as the Second Speaker.