Dark Mode
Friday, 12 July 2024

Welcome to the National Assembly of Bhutan website.


The National Assembly has 47 elected members representing the country’s 47 constituencies. They belong to either the ruling or opposition political party. The party with the majority Assembly seats forms the government and the other party takes the opposition bench. The winning party chooses a prime minister and ministers from among the winning candidates to form the cabinet (Lhengye Zhungtshog) or executive government.

In the current National Assembly, the People's Democratic Party (PDP) with 30 members, is the ruling party and the Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) with 17 members is the opposition.

Honorable Dasho Tshering Tobgay, the President of PDP, is the current Prime Minister (2024-2028). BTP’s President, Honorable Pema Chewang is the  Leader of Opposition. Click here to find members, their election record and voting record.