Dark Mode
Tuesday, 23 April 2024

Welcome to the National Assembly of Bhutan's website.

The National Assembly of Bhutan consists of several key divisions that carry out the core functions and operations of the legislature.

At the top is the Secretary General, who oversees all activities and divisions within the National Assembly. The Secretary General provides high-level leadership and strategic direction for the organization.

Reporting to the Secretary General are four main divisions:

  • Secretariat Services Division: This division provides administrative and operational support to the National Assembly. Responsibilities include managing facilities, human resources, finances, and IT services.
  • Information and Communication Division: This division is responsible for public relations, media management, and communicating the activities of the National Assembly to the general public. They disseminate information through press releases, websites, social media, and other channels.
  • Legislative and Procedural Division: As the core legislative branch, this division manages the lawmaking process from start to finish. They provide research and analysis on legislative issues, manage the calendar and scheduling of legislative sessions, and oversee voting, debates, and procedures.
  • Hansard and Research Division: This division produces official transcripts and records of legislative proceedings. They also conduct policy research and analysis to inform lawmakers during legislative deliberations.

Additionally, there are Directors who manage each division and ensure smooth operations within their respective areas.

Together, these divisions and leaders work cohesively to carry out the essential democratic functions of the National Assembly in service to the people of Bhutan. The organizational structure facilitates efficient governance and lawmaking for the nation.