Dark Mode
Sunday, 19 May 2024

The First Session of the Fourth Parliament commences on Sunday(9th June, 2024).

National Assembly


The National Assembly is one of the two chambers of Bhutan’s bi-cameral legislature, which together with the Druk Gyalpo, makes up the Parliament of Bhutan.

The two chambers were established in 2008 under Articles 11 and 12 of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan, after the first general election to establish Parliament and form government. 

The National Assembly has 47 members elected from the 47 constituencies in the country. The members belong to either the ruling or opposition party. The Constitution has a provision for the National Assembly to have a maximum of 55 elected members in proportion to the country’s population.