Wednesday 29 March 2023 07:08 PM  |  Webmail | Member Login

About SecretariatHome Secretariat About Secretariat

The National Assembly Secretariat has four divisions: Secretariat Services, Information and Communications, Legislative and Procedural, and Research and Hansard Divisions. The Secretariat provides professional, technical, and support services to the National Assembly.

The National Assembly Act of 2008 states that the National Assembly Secretariat shall be established to support its activities and to manage its affairs. The Secretariat is mandated to assist the National Assembly to fulfill its duties. It is an independent and non-partisan institution headed by the Secretary General. The Secretariat’s directorate and chiefs of the four divisions support the Secretary General run the Secretariat to serve the National Assembly.

Even before Bhutan transitioned to parliamentary democracy in 2008, the National Assembly which then used to be the country’s unicameral parliament had its Secretariat established in 1973. The current Assembly Secretariat is the continuation of the previous Secretariat.


Find out who's the MP(s) for a constituency.


Find NAB Member

News & Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live & archived video..


Find Out More

Connect With the NAB

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Contact Us

Call the Information Service on tel.
+975-2-322729 (Monday-Friday)