Wednesday 29 March 2023 08:07 PM  |  Webmail | Member Login

OverviewHome MembersOverview

Bhutan’s Parliament consists of three important institutions: His Majesty the King, National Council and National Assembly. The National Council has 25 members. People of 20 dzongkhags (districts) elect 20 members, while His Majesty the King nominates five members to the House as eminent persons. The Council is non-partisan and its members do not belong to any political parties. It is also known as the house of review.

The National Assembly has 47 members elected by people from 47 constituencies. The members belong to two political parties either ruling or opposition. The two political parties in the current National Assembly are Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (ruling) and Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (opposition). The ruling party has 30 members and opposition 17 members.

However, there are four registered political parties in Bhutan. They are People's Democratic Party(PDP), Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT), Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa(DNT), and Bhutan Kuen-nyam Party(DKP). The elections to the National Assembly take place in two-tiers – primary and general. The political parties that get the highest and the second highest number of total votes cast in the primary round fight the general election.

The president of DNT is Dr. Lotey Tshering, the current Prime Minister (2018-2023). DPT’s President is Dr. Pema Gyamtsho also the opposition leader.


Find out who's the MP(s) for a constituency.


Find NAB Member

News & Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live & archived video..


Find Out More

Connect With the NAB

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Contact Us

Call the Information Service on tel.
+975-2-322729 (Monday-Friday)