Tuesday 03 October 2023 07:29 PM  |  Webmail | Member Login

About NABHome About NAB About NAB

Since Bhutan transitioned to parliamentary democracy in 2007, the current National Assembly is the third one. The first democratically elected National Assembly completed its tenure in 2013. The House is one of the Chambers of Bhutan’s bicameral Parliament.

Article (10) of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan (2008) states: “There shall be a Parliament of Bhutan in which all legislative powers under the Constitution are vested and which shall consist of the Druk Gyalpo, the National Council and the National Assembly.”

There are two political parties in the National Assembly, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) and Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT). Elections to the National Assembly take place in two tiers - primary round and the general election. Political parties registered with the Election Commission of Bhutan contest the primary round. The two political parties that get the highest and the second highest number of total votes cast are qualified to run for the seats in the National Assembly in the general round of election. The party that gets the maximum seats forms the government and the other takes the opposition berth.

Today, there are 47 members in the House. DNT is the ruling party and DPT the opposition. The Constitution has a provision that the House shall have a maximum of 55 members, elected from each Dzongkhag (district) in proportion to its population. However, no Dzongkhag shall have less than two members or more than seven members.

The National Assembly has the legislative, oversight and representational mandates.

Lyonpo Wangchuk Namgyel is the Speaker of the House.


Find out who's the MP(s) for a constituency.


Find NAB Member

News & Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live & archived video..


Find Out More

Connect With the NAB

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Contact Us

Call the Information Service on tel.
+975-2-322729 (Monday-Friday)

E-mail: nab@nab.gov.bt