Monday 22 April 2019 10:43 PM  |  Webmail | Member Login

News Home Media News

National Assembly Elects Speaker and Deputy Speaker

Posted on :31 October 2018

The National Assembly, during its first sitting held today, elected Wangchuk Namgyel, Member of Parliament from Nyishog-Saephu constituency as the Speaker and Tshencho Wangdi, Member of Parliament from Kabisa-Talog constituency as the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly.


MP Wangchuk Namgyel secured 30 votes while MP Ugyen Wangdi from Dremetse-Ngatshang constituency got 17 votes, out of a total of 47 votes casted. For the post of Dy. Speaker, MP Tshencho Wangdi secured 31 votes while his contestant MP Karma Wangchuk from Chhumig-Ura constituency received 16 votes, out of a total of 47 votes casted.


The first sitting of the National Assembly began with the ushering of Ku-Sung-Thugten into the Assembly Hall as a symbolic representation of His Majesty the King.  After the reading out of the Kasho from His Majesty the Druk Gyalpo, the Members put on Patang/Gyentag and changed their scarfs. The Members then took the Oath or Affirmation of  Office administered by the Chief Justice of Bhutan as per the Third Schedule of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan.


Find out who's the MP(s) for a constituency.


Find NAB Member

News & Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live & archived video..


Find Out More

Connect With the NAB

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Contact Us

Call the Information Service on tel.
+975-2-322729 (Monday-Friday)